Montenegro is a country located in Southeast Europe. It has a coast on the Adriatic Sea to the south and is bordered by Croatia to the west, Bosnia and Herzegovina to the northwest, Serbia and Kosovo (under UNSCR 1244) to the north and east, and Albania to the south. Its capital and largest city is Podgorica, while Cetinje is designated as the Old Royal Capital.

After the dissolution of Yugoslavia, Montenegro remained a constituent republic of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and later on of the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro. Following a referendum held in May 2006, Montenegro declared independence on 3 June 2006.

Montenegro is a member of the United Nations (UN), the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) and of the Council of Europe (CoE). Montenegro is also a founding member of the Union for the Mediterranean and it participates in the Partnership for Peace. It is a candidate country currently negotiating membership in the European Union. For more information about Montenegro's relations with the EU, please see the section European Union and Montenegro.


Surface: 13,812 km2
Length of borders: 614 km
Coastline: 294 km
Beaches: 73 km
Highest mountain: 2,522 m (Durmitor, Bobotov kuk)
Largest lake: Skadar Lake - 391 km²
Deepest canyon: The Tara canyon – 1,300 m
Largest bay: Kotor Bay
National parks: Durmitor, Biogradska gora, Skadar Lake, Lovcen and Prokletije.
Climate: Hot dry summers and autumns in the southern parts, and relatively cold winters with heavy snowfalls inland


Population: 625 266 inhabitants
Ethnic groups: Montenegrin 44.98%, Serbian 28.73%, Bosniak 8.65%, Albanian 4.91%, other (Muslims, Croats, Roma) 7.85 %, does not want to declare 4.87 % (Census 2011)
Religions: Orthodox 72.07%, Muslim 19.11%, Catholic 3.44%, other 2.75%, does not want to declare 2.61 % (Census 2011)
Languages: Montenegrin, Serbian, Bosnian, Albanian, Croatian

Other useful information

Currency: Euro
National holidays: 13 July and 21 May
Time zone: CET - Central European Time (GMT+1)
International telephone code: + 382
Mobile operators: 067 T-Mobile, 069 Telenor and 068 M tel.
Internet country code: .me
Ports: Bar, Budva, Kotor and Herceg Novi
Airports: Podgorica and Tivat

President, Parliament and Government

Montenegro is a parliamentary democracy, defined in its Constitution as a civic, democratic and ecological state of social justice, based on the rule of law.

The President of Montenegro is the head of state and is elected by direct, universal suffrage for a five-year term. The current President is Filip Vujanovic, elected in April 2013. His official residence is in Cetinje, while most government buildings are in Podgorica.

The Government is headed by the Prime Minister Milo Djukanovic appointed in December 2012. He leads a coalition government composed of the Democratic Party of Socialists, Social Democratic Party, Liberal Party, Bosniak Party, Croatian Civic Initiative and two Albanian parties. The Government is composed of four deputy Prime Ministers and 17 ministers, including one without portfolio.